Skip to content

Nephrology Nursing Continuing Education: Keeping Skills Up to Date

Nephrology nursing continuing education is an integral part of being a nephrology nurse, as ongoing learning is required in order to stay certified. But first, registered nurses must meet one of three certification levels in order to become nephrology nurses, a specialization that treats patients who either have or at risk for kidney disease.

Certified Dialysis Nurses are registered nurses who have done at least 2,000 hours of nephrology care as well as 60 hours of continuing education in areas such as registered nurse dialysis training. Registered nurses who hold nursing bachelor’s or master’s degrees can become Certified Nephrology Nurses once they meet additional requirements set forth by the Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission. And finally, RNs who have at least a nursing master’s degree and are able to meet other advanced requirements can become Certified Nephrology Nurse-Nurse Practitioners.

As part of the additional requirements, all nephrology nurses will take extra classes in anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, pathophysiology, pharmacotherapy, growth and development, nutrition, and end of life care. Nephrology nurses also need hands-on experience in kidney disease care.

Once certified, nephrology nursing continuing education allows nurses in this field to constantly update their education. Some ways to keep up their certification include attending the American Nephrology Nurses’ Association’s annual symposium, or one of ANNA’s workshops, distance learning courses or audio conferences that cover topics like dialysis training for nurses. Likewise, the Nephrology Nursing Commission helps nurses advance their education.

The CNN-NP designation, which is the highest certification level, requires that RNs pass the CNN-NP exam. The test consists of 200 multiple choice questions that deal with both patient problems such as acute renal failure, as well as nurse practitioner activities such as patient assessment and diagnoses. Dialysis training for registered nurses is an example of the type of training that will help RNs pass the CNN-NP exam.

Once registered nurses pass that exam, they must be recertified every five years, and there are two ways to earn recertification. First, nephrology nurse practitioners can complete 150 hours of nephrology nursing continuing education. One hundred of those 150 credit hours must focus specifically on nephrology. The other option is to pass a recertification exam. Either way, 5,000 hours practicing nephrology nursing are required as well.

There are specialized areas in the nephrology nursing field as well, and those areas continue to evolve as nurses become trained to provide the best tailored care to each and every patient. Specialized skills mostly relate to modalities of therapy. These include hemodialysis, transplantation, continuous renal replacement therapy and other extracorporeal therapies. Acquiring these skills, of course, requires more continuing education.

Registered nurses are responsible for helping patients with acute or chronic kidney failure manage their illness while leading productive lives. As medicine and technology continue to evolve, so does nephrology care. Nephrology nurses understand that their careers will move forward for as long as they are willing to keep educating themselves. Nephrology nursing continuing education helps them continue to treat patients to the best of their abilities using the most up-to-date methods of treatment.

Be Sociable, Share!
  • more Nephrology Nursing Continuing Education: Keeping Skills Up to Date
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: XHTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS